STATE OF MINNESOTA

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

IN SUPREME COURT

MAY 23 2011

FILED

ADM09-8003

IN RE APPOINTMENTS TO APPEAL PANEL PURSUANT TO MINN. STAT. § 253B.19, SUBD. 1 (2010)

ORDER

The Supreme Court is required to appoint an appeal panel under the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 253B.19, subd. 1 (2010). The experience of the appeal panel established that scheduling conflicts coupled with disqualifications of regular and alternate members of the appeal panel necessitate appointment of a larger complement of alternate member judges than the statute provides in order to insure that appeal hearings can proceed in a timely manner.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

1. The following judges are reappointed as members of the appeal panel for a period of one year beginning May 1, 2011:

The Honorable Joanne M. Smith The Honorable Kathleen Gearin The Honorable Karen Asphaug

- 2. The Honorable Joanne M. Smith is reappointed as Chief Judge of the appeal panel for a period of one year beginning May 1, 2011.
- 3. The following district court judges are reappointed as alternate members of the appeal panel for a period of one year beginning May 1, 2011:

The Honorable Patricia Belois-retired

The Honorable James H. Clark, Jr.

The Honorable Margaret A. Daly

The Honorable John Hoffman

The Honorable Gregg E. Johnson

The Honorable Henry W. McCarr-retired

The Honorable Ellen Maas

The Honorable Leslie M. Metzen-retired The Honorable Gary J. Meyer-retired The Honorable Jay Quam The Honorable Robert G. Rancourt

The compensation of panel members shall be Fifty Dollars (\$50.00) for each 4. half-day they are required to serve.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that at the conclusion of each judicial appeal panel matter the entire record on file shall be transmitted to, and maintained by, the county of commitment.

Dated: May 23, 2011

BY THE COURT:

Chief Justice